I was going to roast a chicken using the tin reflector oven and make dumplings but thought better of it as the chicken didn’t need the heat in 20 degree temps as much as I did. I rethought my cooking demo and got a little help from Stephen Block ( http://www.kitchenproject.com/ ). I asked him if German cooks marinated backbones and ribs like a sauerbraten and he said yes so I used his herb combination plus added 2 galengale roots and marinated my Texas pork ribs and sausages for three days. If you want to know more about sauerbraten or any other food, check out his site. it’s WONDERFUL!!! I also shedded a cabbage and salted it in a crock to do an early sauerkraut and there was just enough fermentation. I added this to two cans of sauerkraut. I think next time, I’ll only add one can as there was so much.

Pork,and Sauerkraut, German style

Pork,and Sauerkraut, German style


Pork ribs, Sausages and Sauerkraut
Marinated pork and sausages ( cup of apple cider vinegar, cup of water, 6 each bay leaves, peppercorns, cloves, allspice, cardamom seeds , mace, 2 tbs dark brown sugar and dried onion, salt) for minimum of three days, maximum of seven. I crushed all the herbs and toasted them, then added to the organic cider vinegar (Braggs) and water and simmered it. I put the meat in a freezer bag and marinated it for three days. When I was ready to cook, I the seared the pork and sausages in bacon drippings and layered between fresh sauerkraut, diced apples, carrots and leeks . I added canned sauerkraut 40 minutes before serving. Stewed until done. Thicken broth with crushed gingersnaps and add port soaked raisins to taste.

Pickens County Cornmeal Dumplings

1 cup cornmeal, ½ cup flour, 2 tsp dissolved pearl ash or baking powder, ½ tsp salt, 2 eggs, ½ cup milk, 1 tbs melted butter, 2 green onions including the green finely chopped, 1 celery rib chopped fine, fresh thyme. Salt and pepper . Mix together adding butter last and drop by spoonfuls into boiling stock (I siphoned the stock from the pork and sauerkraut and added a little boiling water. OH IT WAS GOOD!!!) . Boil for 12 minutes, simmer for 3 minutes. Turn out to a tureen with broth.
Pickens Co. Cornmeal Drop Dumplings

Pickens Co. Cornmeal Drop Dumplings

I had the makings for these two recipes but with a huge Heritage chocolate and Stout Cake and so few people to eat, I decided to make this at the next muster , but it’s good nonetheless.

Kilt Lettuce and Onion
Soft lettuce and sliced green onion. Dressing of 2 T bacon grease, 2 T white vinegar, 1 T sugar, salt , pepper .

Molasses Gingerbread
½ cup unsalted butter, 1 cup sugar, 2 eggs, ½ cup molasses, 1/2 tsp salt, 2 cups flour, 1 tsp soda, 1 tsp each : ginger, cloves, cinnamon, allspice. 1 cup boiling water.
Cream the butter and sugar, Add eggs and molasses and mix well. Add dry ingredients and blend thoroughly. Stir in boiling water. Put in buttered pan. Bake in dutch oven 30-40 minutes until done in center.

Molly burning something....

Molly burning something….

