Brown Bag ceramic shortbread pan can be purchased at Blueberry Forest Toys
http://www.blueberryforest.com/cooking_fun/brown_bag_cookie_molds.htm

At Crockett Days, Donna Ledbetter, Diane O’Neil and I had an  18th century tea and Doug made short bread cookies. This man can cook!!! He is without a doubt the best I’ve ever experienced and his shortbread was to die for. I asked for the recipe and , as always, he generously gave it so I’m sharing it. I made two batches tonight, one batch I cut with a cookie cutter  was half plain and the other half with a tumbprint full of homemade blueberry jam. I used my ceramic shortbread pan for the other batch and made this with fresh minced rosemary as Doug did. I was surprised when I tasted his how totally delicious they were. Next time I’m going to use lavender I grew this summer and I bet it will be tasty too.

Doug’s SHORTBREAD

 

1 1/2 cups of all purpose flour

3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened

2 tbs granulated sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1/3 cup confectioner’s sugar

Mix well to make a soft dough (I whipped the butter with the granulated sugar, then added the confectioners sugar and salt – the latter both well wisked to incorporate the salt, then I added the flour). Doug didn’t say but it would be well to refrigerate the dough for a little while to firm it up especially if you want to roll it out to cut cookies. If you use a pan , spray it well with Baker’s Joy and make sure to get in all the crevices, then press in the dough firmly. Bake 350 until light golden on the edge. (I baked mine at 300 degrees at top 1/3 of the oven so the bottom wouldn’t get overbaked). If you bake as a whole make sure you cut the pieces as soon as you take it from the oven. If you ware using a ceramic pan, make sure the middle is baked or else you can’t get it out of the pan too well. Put a plate over the pan, turn it upside down and give the bottom a good thump. THEN cut the pieces. All in all, cool for about 10 minutes on a rack and then lick your chops!

Doug said these cookies are great with pecans too.

