Corn Chowder

Bob McCroskey, Ronnie Lail and I were talking about our favorite soups as we were  thawing out our Sunday vittles and today when I slid to the grocery store, I picked up a few things to make my favorite soups. One of them is Corn Chowder and since this is supposedly a colonial cooking site, I figured I’d crack open my Williamsburg Cookbook and make what was there. Of course I had to fiddle with it a little bit and I have to say, I like it better than what they have.

Ingredients

  • 3 ounces salt pork, cubed  (2 slices of bacon)
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 rib of celery, chopped
  • 1 ½ cup potatoes, diced
  • 2 cups chicken stock or chicken broth (I use homemade )
  • 2 cups cream-style corn (PLUS 1 cup whole kernel corn)
  • 2 cups milk
  • ¼ cup butter
  • salt and white pepper to taste
  • I also added a generous pinch of fresh thyme leaves , a bay leaf and 1/2 cup red pepper, finely chopped

    Instructions:

    1. Fry the salt pork until brown. If using bacon, fry until crumbly. Remove and reserve for garnish and take out all but one tablespoon of the fat.
    2. Add the onion (and pepper)  and sauté over medium heat 5 minutes, stirring often.
    3. Add the celery, potatoes, chicken stock, and one cup of water and simmer until the potatoes are done.
    4. Add the corn (both kinds)  and simmer 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.
    5. Heat the milk and butter and add to the soup
    6. Add salt and pepper to taste, and serve hot

    PS. Next on the hit parade, Peanut Stew

