Fadge

Fadge

 

When I think of Ireland, I think of tomatoes, potatoes in all ways, shapes and forms, Guinness and sweet hard apple cider unlike any manna from heaven I’ve ever  had. Tonight I was going to make mashed potatoes to go with our dinner but instead I cracked open one of my cookbooks and made Fadge aka potato cakes. People in Scotland make something similar to this ca;;ed farl- sound familiar.  Yum, yum, delicious!

This recipe is  from Darina Allen’s Festive Foods of Ireland

Ingredients
2 lbs potatoes
1 egg beaten (eggBeater)
1/2 stick butter  (Margarine)
2 to 3 tablespoons flour
1 to 1 1/2 tablespoons chopped parsley, chives, lemon thyme, mixed (optional)
Whole milk or half and half  (I used fat free Half and Half)
Salt & fresh ground pepper
Seasoned flour
Bacon fat or butter for frying

Method
Boil potatoes in their jackets until tender. Pull off skins and mash immediately. Add egg, butter, flour and herbs (if using) and mix well. Season with salt and pepper, adding a few drops of milk if mixture seems too stiff. Shape into a 1 inch thick round shape and then cut into eight pieces. Dip into seasoned flour. Bake on a griddle over an open fire or fry in in bacon fat over gentle heat. Cook the fadge until crusty and golden brown on one side, then flip over and cook on the other side. (About 4 to 5 minutes on each side). Serve as an accompaniment to an Irish breakfast or on its own on hot plates with a blob of butter melting on top. Serves 8.

To bake: Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Bake on a lightly greased (Canola oil spray) baking sheet or in a heated and greased (I brush canola oil in my skillet)  cast iron skillet or scones skillet for 12 to 15 minutes or until the cakes are golden brown. like a corn pone.

I did a lot of substituting and it makes very little difference to me in terms of taste. To the discerning tastebuds, though, I would imagine that the butter would make it richer.

SEASONED FLOUR  is something I always keep in a jar for all kinds of uses and is easy to make.

In a bowl, mix

 
 

  • 4 cups plain flour
  • 1/4 cup kosher salt 
  • 2 tablespoons fresh ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons dry mustard 
  • 1 tablespoon sweet paprika (add 1 tbs smoked added later to this if you want)
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon thyme
  • 1 teaspoon parsley flakes
  •  

    Store in a freezer baggie or jar.

