Tipsy Laird

AKA Scotch Trifle

 While looking for traditional Scottish holiday recipes, I came across a great  site (http://www.rampantscotland.com/recipes/blrecipe_trifle.htm

and I made this recipe and a traditional lemon and curd tart (to follow) on  Sunday. I like trying these out to see if they “are what they are”. This one turned out better than I thought (according to my mother, the taste tester). There were a few substitutions (I left in the liquours )but I don’t think  in the end it diminished the taste. This is one expensive dessert if you use the liquours so you better like the people you’re serving it to :o)

Ingredients:

(get your food scale out- it works better than trying to estimate quantities)
6 sponge cakes  (I used lady fingers)
8 oz  raspberry or strawberry jam (I used rasberry and warmed it in a pot to make it gooey. You could use sugar free too but I didn’t) 
2oz ratafia biscuits (I used Amaretti cookies which I left out overnight but you can used dried macaroons too) 
Rind from a lemon, finely grated
Vanilla essence/extract (I used a tsp)
Quarter pint double (whipping) cream
Flaked browned almonds (browned in a skillet), glacé cherries, angelica  (I didn’t have angelica so I used crushed  anise ), some pastachios and a little box of fresh rasberries for garnish
Quarter pint medium sweet sherry (I used 1/4 cp of Bristols)
2 tablespoons Drambuie

Ingredients for Custard:
4 drops of vanilla

4 egg yolks
2 egg whites
1 pint milk (I used fat free- my concession to calories)
1oz caster (granulated) sugar (buy caster sugar- it dissolves better than granulated in desserts!)

Method:
The custard is made by putting the milk and sugar into a saucepan and bringing to the boil. Mix egg yolks and whites and pour the hot milk over them, stirring well. (Temper the eggs by adding a little of the milk at first or you’ll have scrambled eggs here).   Return to the saucepan and stir over a gentle heat with a wooden spoon. When the custard runs in ribbons down the back of the spoon, strain into a big bowl and cover with dampened greaseproof (I used Saran wrap) paper to stop a skin forming.

Split the sponges (Carefully) , mix with jam and put in a glass dish. Crush the ratafia biscuits (macaroons) and scatter on top with the lemon rind. Mix the sherry and Drambuie and pour over the sponges. Leave to soak.

(In a nice glass serving bowl ) , Pour the custard evenly over the sponge etc. Whip the cream until stiff and sweeten a little, if preferred (I used Splenda- about  1/4 cup) . Spread over the trifle. Sprinkle with flaked almonds, small ratafia biscuits, sliced angelica (the anise) , pastachios and the rasberries. (Refridgerate overnight.) If you have any “hundreds and thousands” confection, sprinkle that on too, just before the trifle is served. (I had some nonparils left over from making cookies- looks really pretty!)

This was a really pretty dessert and totally terrific tasting.  The picture is from the following  which has some darned good recipes too!  http://www.deliciousmagazine.co.uk/articles/rachel-allens-christmas-lunch-menu-and-timeplan

