COCONUT CUSTARD PIE

 

This is so very un-period but turned out so good and was so easy, I just had to share it. I like custard desserts and really like coconut custard pie but don’t like the sugary ones you find in the stores. I never made one but last night was the night.  After having read all kinds of recipes, I decided the best one sounded like the recipe by  Emeril Lagasse (Mr. Gaaaa-lic). I made the pie crust after school and let it refrigerate while Mom and I went to Salt Water Willies on Jack White Drive for dinner. This is not a paid announcement by any stretch but if you like food ala New Orleans, you HAVE TO EAT THERE! The taste is Wonderful and the menu is terrific.

Anyway, It took no time to make the custard when I got back and the pie came together in no time. Tonight I had a piece and I have to tell you, it’s a WINNER. Not too rich, very creamy but light and fluffy and if you substitute the sugar and use fat free milk, you eliminate a lot of calories and it’s diabetic friendly.

INGREDIENTS

3/4 cp Splenda (my choice but he said sugar)

1 1/2 cp unsweetened coconut mik

1 1/2 cup (fat free) milk

1/4 cp cornstarch

5 egg yokes (I used three egg yokes and 2 egg whites

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup  unsweetened coconut , toasted (5-7 minutes in a 350 oven on a baking sheet, stir occassionally)

1 tbs butter

1 tsp vanilla

1 baked 9 inch pie crust shell

Directions:

In a non-stick pan, combine  the Splenda (or sugar), coconut milk, 1 cp of the milk  and scald the mixture. In a mixing bowl, whisk the remaining milk with the cornstarch to make a slurry. Whisk the egg yokes andwhites with salt in another bowl. Temper the eggs by adding a little of the scaled milk while beating the bejee out of them. Then add the yoke mixture and the slurry back to the pot of scalded milk and whisk vigorously over medium heat until thickened. Remove from the heat andadd the coconut, butter  and the vanilla, whisking until all is combined. Pour the custard into the baked pie shell and refrigerate. Wait four hours before serving. Serve with  a little whipped cream or creme friesch and then start smacking your lips!

