Monkey Bread

I was going to make an apple pie tonight to take to the muster this weekend but as Iwas going through my recipe file, I found my recipe for pull apart bread. Some people call it Monkey Bread but I believe in Intelligent Design so I prefer to call it Pull Apart (only joking here!). Some people use canned or frozen biscuits but I like the real bread-cake texture so I make mine from scratch.

For the bread:

2 pkg. yeast
1 c. lukewarm water
1 c. shortening
3/4 c. sugar
6 c. flour
1 1/2 tsp. salt
2 eggs, beaten
1 c. boiling water
Dissolve yeast in 1 cup lukewarm water. Mix shortening, sugar and salt in a large bowl. Add boiling water and mix well. Add eggs, then add yeast mixture. Add 3 cups of flour. Add the rest of flour with spoon. Let rise to double, punch down.
To make the Pull apart bread:
The spices:
1 c. sugar
2 tbsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. nutmeg (optional)
Cut the dough with a large biscuit cutter.
Grease Bundt pan.  Mix sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg in a Ziploc bag. Place  biscuits in plastic bag and shake to coat each piece well.
THEN MAKE THE TOPPING:
1 tbsp. cinnamon
1 c. brown sugar
1/4 cp honey
1 1/4 sticks butter, melted
handful of pecans or walnuts

 

Melt butter and add cinnamon and sugar, honey and nuts . Layer 1/2 biscuit pieces in Bundt pan. Cover with 1/2 topping mixture. Layer remaining biscuits and cover with topping. Sprinklewith more nuts andraisins if you want . Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes. Invert onto plate while still warm. 
