BENNE WAFERS- nutty, crunch and delicate. A no-brainer to make.

Down Charleston way, I ate my weight in benne wafers. they’re like chips, eat one, you have to eat  them all. It’s a great little cookie whose roots go back to the 17th century when the Bantu brought sesame with them.

I found this recipe online at http://dining.discoversouthcarolina.com/famous-flavors/benne-wafers.aspx

If you are diabetic , you can substitute Splenda for half the brown sugar and it doesn’t change the texture.

  • ¾ cup butter
  • 1 ½ cups brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 ½ cups flour
  • ½ cup sesame (benne) seeds, pre roasted or roasted light brown in a cast iron skillet
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • ¼ teaspoon baking powder

PREPARATION: Cream butter and sugar together and mix with other ingredients in the order given. Drop with a teaspoon onto a well-greased cookie pan, far enough apart to allow spreading while baking. Bake in a 325º F oven for 7-10 minutes.   Yield: 7 dozen. 

  • MOLLYNOTE: I bought roasted sesame seeds cheep at the StockPot off State of franklin Road in Johnson City. I used increased the amount to a cup of seeds with no ill results.  I used a melon baller to scoop the dough out ; this worked out really well!!!  I suggest you refrigerate the dough at least a half hour before you scoop as it will be easier to measure out.
