I made a tenderloin of venison for the February muster and the marinade was based on a 17th century receipt. I had the receipt but not the proportions so I consulted a friend of mine who is a trained chef and designed the menus for the Marriot resorts and he helped me with the proportions. The marinade was:

1 cup of red wine (I used a pinot)

1 splash of apple cider vinegar- about 2 tbs

1/4 cp olive oil

one good pinch of kosher salt

a bouquet garni consisting of  2 FRESH bay leaf, a pinch of whole mace slivers, 10 pepper corns, 10 juniper berries, 1 cinnamon stick, 4 stalks fresh thyme, 8 cloves

a murpoix (chopped celery, onion, grated carrot, 3 crushed garlic cloves)

I sliced off the silver membrane and slit the venison not quite through into medallions. In each slit, I put in a goodly piece of pork fat and a slice of garlic. Then I put the meat in a baggie and poured the marinade in and let it rest for 3 days.

Were I to do this again, I’d  marinate this cut of meat only overnight and slice the medallions through and saute them in butter. As it was I potted the meat with root vegetables and red cabbage. I strained the marinade with cheesecloth and used it as a base to make the vegetables so  it almost tasted like saurbraten. I think this recipe  would be terrific with a loin roast, marinated for 3 days.

Hannah Glasse had a receipt for Red Currant sauce for venison which is red currant jam and a splash of lemon juice. I made a red currant sauce out of a  splash of vinegar, a half  jar of red currant jam, a tbs vanilla sugar, and a little less than 1/2 cp water. I reduced the mixture to about half and added a half stick of butter to thicken and give it a beautiful rich glaze. I actually had this sauce over pork when I went to Austria- pretty delicious .

