Shropshire Cookies with Sultanas

 When the weather is bad, I always raid the larder to see what I can make. I came upon this recipe for Shropshire Cookies and made them last night. They were so good, I thought you’d like the recipe.

Ingredients:

8 oz. butter

1 lb. flour

 8 oz. sugar

¼ t. grated nutmeg

1 egg

1 t. rosewater

I added 1/2 cup of sultanas to the dough as well

Method: Rub the butter into the dry ingredients, then work in the egg and rosewater to form a very stiff dough. Cut off lumps of dough and work into ¼” thick cakes, 4″ in diameter. Using a comb, mark the top surface into diamonds, cutting half-way through the cake, then use a broad skewer to prick through the center of each diamond. Transfer to baking sheets and bake for 20 min. at 350ºF. Remove from sheets with a metal spatula and place on a wire rack to cool. From Madam Susanne Avery: A Plain Plaintain, p. 33

NOTE: I didn’t bother with the fancy top, just flattened them down with a juice glass :o)

