Collared Pork siffed with Forcemeat

I belong to a Yahoo group called SAVORY FAIRE and the people on there are  unbelieveable. They are foodies, food historians, some experts in their areas and are so free with their knowledge. This gentleman talked about Coller’d Pork, something he made for a regiment function and I emailed him about the receipt. Sounded easy enough and I surely love fruit stuffing. This is his reply.

The ingredients are 4 lbs pork tenderloin, butterflied,

1/2 cp dried cranberries,

1/2 tsp thyme, salt and pepper to taste

 15 slices of toasted bread I bet a bag of seasoned croutons or stuffing mix would work)

chicken broth

1 diced Granny Smith Apple

 Here are the details on the collar’d pork.

The loin (4#) was butterflied and pounded flatter.

The forcemeat was 15 slices of lightly toasted bread cut into cubes, moistened with a little chicken broth and a diced Granny Smith apple added.

The cranberries (1/2 cup) were heated just enough to soften them and added to the mix along with salt, pepper, and 1/2 teaspoon thyme. This was spread on the pork which was then rolled and tied with string.

It was roasted at 350 for 90 minutes and was well received.

The original recipe used a thinner cut and the butterflied loin was thicker than ideal so Next Time: I would use two pieces of loin and put one on top of the other with the forcemeat between. If I rolled it I would not use the separate tenderloin as it made it harder to roll.

 By layering the pork I could double the amount of forcemeat. My wife and I did the layering with butterflied tenderloin (just for the two of us) and it worked fine. I would consider adding to the amount of cranberries. If doing this at an event I would do it my iron bake oven using coals on top as well as under the oven. If rolled it might take a little longer, if layered perhaps not. If layered I would use several skewers to hold it together as lifting it up out of the oven would be hard without them. Or use a pie plate type tin as a baking pan to help in lifting it out. I would suggest using a meat thermometer,especially if rolled. Not period correct but safer 155- 160 degrees is plenty. Good luck.

Ed

Ed Kennedy 1st Co’y, Herrick’s Regt.

